Skip to main content

The Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board today announced Genevieve Hawkins and Graham Jackson as members of the Board. Genevieve and Graham join Angela Seidel as independent OHS professionals on the Board.

Genevieve is General Manager, Health, Safety and Wellbeing at Coles. Originally trained as an occupational therapist, Genevieve has tertiary qualifications in OHS, change management and management and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and CPMSIA. With more than 20 years working across a range of OHS roles Genevieve brings a wealth of experience to the Accreditation Board as well as a desire to contribute to the quality and relevance of OHS professional education to supporting sustainable businesses.

Graham is Director Safety at Transport NSW. Holding a Master in Health and Safety and Environment Law from the UK, Chartered
Membership of IOSH and an Australian Chartered OHS Professional, Graham has worked in OHS, rail and construction safety since the early 90s. Graham brings a broad view to OHS and OHS education that workers, customers and the public are equally important; his philosophy is that people are the solution not the problem in safety.

In welcoming Genevieve and Graham, Professor Mike Capra Chair of Board, said that each, in their own away, will enhance the activities of the Accreditation Board in influencing OHS education and the capability of those providing OHS advice as well as the operational
activities of the Board.

Board membership also includes OHS academics, representatives of the Safety Institute of Australia, the Australian Institute of Occupational Hygiene, the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, the Australian New Zealand Society of Occupational Medicine, the
Australian Faculty of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, the ACTU and WorkSafe Victoria.

For media enquiries:
Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board contacts:
Registrar Pam Pryor,, Mob 0411 193370

This media release is available in PDF format.

Latest News

New chair and deputy for the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board

Professor Mike Capra the inaugural Chair of the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board (AOHSEAB) has stepped down from the role after seven years.

Patrick Murphy, Chair of the Board for the Safety Institute of Australia (SIA) sincerely thanked Mike for his service to the AOHSEAB. “Mike has made a significant contribution to the standard and quality […]

Recommendations of the Higher Education Standards Panel into Professional Accreditation endorsed

On the 28th February, the Minster for Education the Hon Simon Birmingham addressed the Universities Australia Conference in Canberra. He spoke about the outcomes of a review conducted by the Higher Education Standards Panel (the Panel) in 2016 to reduce the regulatory and administrative burden associated with professional and academic accreditation processes.

The Department of […]

Australian Catholic University delivers integrated health, safety and business management program

The Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board announced this week that the Master of Health, Safety and Environmental Management conducted by the Australian Catholic University (ACU) achieved accreditation late last year. These programs met the OHS and educational standards set by the Accreditation Board for the education of generalist OHS professionals.

The ACU undertook a comprehensive […]

TEQSA Standards and External Benchmarking

How Accreditation and SIA Education Awards can assist in meeting the requirements

Higher Education Standards and benchmarking

The Higher Education Standards place an emphasis on external benchmarking, specifically in the development of learning outcomes (Standard 1.4.1) and in the review and improvement processes (Standard 5.3.4).
Standard 1.4.1 requires that:
– The expected learning outcomes for […]

Appointment of new Registrar to the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board.

Today, the Safety Institute of Australia announced the transition of the registrar role for the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board with Meagan Browne replacing Pam Pryor who has undertaken the registrar role since the inception of the Board.

The registrar role is crucial to the effectiveness of the Accreditation Board. Not only is the registrar […]