Skip to main content

The Safety Institute of Australia together with the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board announced the winners of national OHS education awards at the recent Dr Eric Wigglesworth Memorial Lecture.

Dr Christine Teague from Edith Cowan University was awarded the Eric Wigglesworth OHS Education (Research) Award for her thesis on Reducing risk and injury to transit officers.

Cameron Stevens who completed a Masters of Ergonomics, Safety and Health at Latrobe University was awarded the National OHS Education Award at the Postgraduate level.

Christine and Cameron receive a study grant of $5000 and $2000 respectively together with membership of the SIA. Their universities are recognised through a plaque of recognition. Safe Work Australia has also recognised Christine’s work by providing her the opportunity to travel to Canberra and work with the Agency on the application of her research to industry.

Christine’s research investigated whether an understanding of the communication and safety culture of transit officers could provide a safer work environment. Christine not only undertook the transit officer training program and worked with the transit officers on night shift, she interviewed trainees, officers, supervisors and managers and visited the US, Canada and the UK to look at best practice in transit police organisations.

Other noteworthy applications at the doctorial level were Dr Jennifer Long on work related musculoskeletal injuries among optometrists, Dr Robin Orr who developed a risk management approach to soldier load carriage, Dr Riza Sunindijo on safety climate in the construction industry and Dr Su Mon Kyaw-Mint who looked at mainstreaming mental health in occupational health and safety.

In making the Education Awards the Safety Institute of Australia and the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board bring an OHS professional perspective to educational outcomes that have already been considered exceptional by their own educational institutions.

A PDF version of this media release is available here.

Latest News

New chair and deputy for the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board

Professor Mike Capra the inaugural Chair of the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board (AOHSEAB) has stepped down from the role after seven years.

Patrick Murphy, Chair of the Board for the Safety Institute of Australia (SIA) sincerely thanked Mike for his service to the AOHSEAB. “Mike has made a significant contribution to the standard and quality […]

Recommendations of the Higher Education Standards Panel into Professional Accreditation endorsed

On the 28th February, the Minster for Education the Hon Simon Birmingham addressed the Universities Australia Conference in Canberra. He spoke about the outcomes of a review conducted by the Higher Education Standards Panel (the Panel) in 2016 to reduce the regulatory and administrative burden associated with professional and academic accreditation processes.

The Department of […]

Australian Catholic University delivers integrated health, safety and business management program

The Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board announced this week that the Master of Health, Safety and Environmental Management conducted by the Australian Catholic University (ACU) achieved accreditation late last year. These programs met the OHS and educational standards set by the Accreditation Board for the education of generalist OHS professionals.

The ACU undertook a comprehensive […]

TEQSA Standards and External Benchmarking

How Accreditation and SIA Education Awards can assist in meeting the requirements

Higher Education Standards and benchmarking

The Higher Education Standards place an emphasis on external benchmarking, specifically in the development of learning outcomes (Standard 1.4.1) and in the review and improvement processes (Standard 5.3.4).
Standard 1.4.1 requires that:
– The expected learning outcomes for […]

Appointment of new Registrar to the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board.

Today, the Safety Institute of Australia announced the transition of the registrar role for the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board with Meagan Browne replacing Pam Pryor who has undertaken the registrar role since the inception of the Board.

The registrar role is crucial to the effectiveness of the Accreditation Board. Not only is the registrar […]